About US

what is culture summit

Culture Summit is a forum that convenes leaders from the fields of the arts, design, heritage, media, museums, public policy and technology, to identify ways in which culture can transform societies and communities worldwide. In April 2019, Culture Summit welcomed more than 480 participants from 90 countries. Experts led panels and workshops on art, museums, cultural heritage, media and technology.

Organised by the Department of Culture and Tourism - Abu Dhabi, Culture Summit Abu Dhabi brings cultural leaders, artists and performers to the capital of the United Arab Emirates for an extraordinary forum of knowledge exchange, debate and policy development. Culture Summit partners include UNESCO, the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and Museum, the Royal Academy of Arts, The Economist Events, Google, UNCTAD, Louvre Abu Dhabi, Emirates Diplomatic Academy and Berklee Abu Dhabi.

Alone together: culture and resilience

The global population is more isolated than at any time in human history, but culture remains as a connective tissue drawing us together. As we navigate this period of unprecedented crisis, what impact will it have on the cultural sector and how will culture lead us away from trauma? With many institutions closing their doors for an extended period of time there are severe challenges around funding and staffing. How can cultural organisations endure this period of shutdown and what needs to be done to support institutions and artists? But the outlook isn’t entirely gloomy; this transformative period has seen the spirit of solidarity emerging and as museums and galleries go digital, people are able to access the arts in new ways. What lessons can we take from the challenges we’re undergoing and what new philosophical frameworks will emerge?

Watch the live stream panel discussion and performances on Thursday 9 April, 2020 from 5pm UAE (2pm London; 3pm Paris; 9am New York; 3pm Geneva)

Visit the Agenda and Participants page for more information.